Literature Faculty

Audrey Bilger, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Professor of Literature & Faculty Director of the Center for Writing & Public Discourse
B.A., Oklahoma State University; M.A., Ph.D., University of Virginia
Teaching: Comedy, Jane Austen, ...
Research: Feminism, Marriage Equality, ...
abilger@cmc.edu , (909) 607-2765, Roberts South 219

 

Christine Crockett, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
B.A. Claremont McKenna College M.A. UC Riverside Ph.D. UC Riverside
Research: Eighteenth Century British Literature, The Gothic Novel, Gender Studies, Medical Literature, The English Novel,
ccrockett@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3454, Kravis Center 101b

 

Leland de la Durantaye, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Professor
B.A. Michigan State University, School of Arts and Sciences; M.A. Cornell University, College of Arts and Sciences; Ph.D. Cornell University, College of Arts and Sciences
leland.deladurantaye@cmc.edu , (909) 607- , Roberts South 215

 

Robert Faggen, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Barton Evans and H. Andrea Neves Professor of Literature
A.B., Princeton University; A.M., Ph.D., Harvard University
Teaching: American Literature, Science and Literature, Polish Literature, Contemporary Irish Poetry, The Bible, Rhetoric and Oratory, Milton,
robert.faggen@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-3005, Athenaeum Gould Center

 

John C. Farrell, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Professor
A.B., Brown University; M.A., Ph.D., Harvard University
Teaching: Modern Fiction, Literary Theory, Renaissance and Modern Poetry, Ancient Greek Literature and Culture,
Research: Post-Enlightenment Literature and Culture, Criticism and Critical Theory, ...
john.farrell@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-2656, Roberts South 217

 

Jamaica Kincaid, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Josephine Olp Weeks Chair and Professor of Literature
Teaching: Creative Writing, Autobiography, ...
jamaica.kincaid@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3228, Roberts South 220

 

Evan Kindley, M.A. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Instructor
evan.kindley@cmc.edu , ( ) - , Kravis Center 101A

 

August Kleinzhaler, M.A. -- read full profile

 


Writer in Residence
akleinzhaler@cmc.edu , ( ) - , Roberts South

 

Seth Lobis, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Assistant Professor
B.A., Ph.D., Yale University
Teaching: Shakespeare, Milton, Pastoral, Literature and Science, Literature and Politics,
Research: Milton, British Poetry and Prose 1500-1800, History of Science, History of Rhetoric, Comparative Epic, Literature and Philosophy, Literature and Linguistics,
slobis@cmc.edu , (909) 607-4221, Roberts South 216

 

Brian McGrath, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Rutgers University
brian.mcgrath@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3820, Roberts South 204A

 

Margaret McLagan, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Lecturer
margaret.mclagan@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-8475, TBD

 

Kevin Moffett, M.F.A. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
kmoffett@cmc.edu , (909) 607- , Roberts South

 

James Morrison, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Professor
B.A., Wayne State University; M.A., Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo; Associate Professor, North Carolina State University, 1990-2001.
Teaching: Film Studies, Modernism/Postmodernism, Creative Writing,
jmorrison@cmc.edu , (909) 607-9678, Roberts South 214

 

Katharine Noel, M.F.A. -- read full profile

 


Writer in Residence
MFA, University of Arizona; BA, Wesleyan University
Teaching: Lecturer, Stanford University,
knoel@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3355, Roberts South 213

 

Lynn Novick, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Lecturer
lynn.novick@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 607-8475, TBD

 

Eric Puchner, M.F.A. -- read full profile

 


Assistant Professor
B.A., Middlebury College; M.F.A., University of Arizona
eric.puchner@cmc.edu , (909) 607-3481, Roberts South 211

 

Ellen K. Rentz, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Assistant Professor
BA Washington University; MA Medieval Studies, University of York, England; MA, PhD English, Columbia University
Teaching: Medieval literature, Chaucer, Dante,
Research: Middle English literature and drama, medieval religious culture, urban studies, history of the book,
ellen.rentz@cmc.edu , (909) 621-8862, Roberts South 212

 

Thomas Schur, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Visiting Assistant Professor
thomas.schur@cmc.edu , (909) 607- , Roberts South 203A

 

Robert von Hallberg, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Professor
A.B., UC Berkeley (1968) M.A., UCLA (1970) Ph.D., Stanford (1975)
Teaching: Poetry, Film, Literary Criticism, Composition,
Research: Film Noir, Spy Films; Popular Love Songs; Lyric Poetry; African American Poetry; Poet-Critics,
rvh@cmc.edu , (909) 607-4045, Roberts South 218

 

Nicholas Warner, Ph.D. -- read full profile

 


Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs and Dean of the Faculty
B.A., Stanford University; M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Teaching: 18th & 19th-century British, American, and Russian Literature; Romanticism; Leadership in Literature and Film; Literary Theory,
Research: British and American Romanticism; 19th-Century Russian Literature; Leadership in Literature and Film,
nicholas.warner@claremontmckenna.edu , (909) 621-8117, Bauer Center 227